Sprint star Andre Greipel steals Stage Four of the Tour Down Under

German Andre Greipel has won Stage Four of the Tour Down Under, with fellow Lotto-Belisol rider Jurgen Roelandts finishing second.


Andre Greipel crosses the finishing line at Victor Harbor. Photo: AAP/www.sbs.com.au

Andre Greipel crosses the finishing line at Victor Harbor. Photo: AAP/www.sbs.com.au

Greipel used his sprinting abilities to claim the lead in the final few kilometres, with assistance from his teammates to pull off a strong team win.


Cadel Evans is still on top of the overall leader board and will wear the Ochre Jersey in Stage Five despite not being in the first group of riders to cross the line.


Former Ochre Jersey wearer Simon Gerrans finished in fourth place as he continued to push to be a top rider again.


Australians are dominating the overall leader board, with six Australians in the top ten.


Today’s stage ran from Unley to Victor Harbor, with the King of the Mountain climb in Myponga and sprints in Echunga and Yankalilla.


Greipel finished the 145.8km course in three hours and 33 minutes.


Stage Five, the longest and most punishing stage, will start in McLaren Vale and finishing at Willunga Hill, with two climbs up the hill.


The race will start at 11.10am and will finish at approximately 3.00pm after 151.5km of riding.


Top 10 after Stage Four


1 – Cadel Evans (BMC Racing Team)(AUS)

2 – Simon Gerrans (Orica-Greenedge)(AUS)

3 – Nathan Haas (Garmin-Sharp)(AUS)

4 – Robert Gesink (Belkin Pro Cycling Team)(NED)

5 – Geraint Thomas (Team Sky)(GBR)

6 – Daryl Impey (Orica-Greenedge)(RSA)

7 – Rory Sutherland (Tinkoff-Saxo)(AUS)

8 – Ben Hermans (BMC Racing Team)(BEL)

9 – Richie Porte (Team Sky)(AUS)

10 – Adam Hansen (Lotto-Belisol)(AUS)


Written by Samantha Thomas.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



* Copy This Password *

* Type Or Paste Password Here *

112,156 Spam Comments Blocked so far by Spam Free Wordpress

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>