Mr Price Pro Ballito Round 4 and 5 Highlights

The round of 24 and the round of 16 of the Mr Price Pro were completed in two-metre swell on July 5th at Willard’s Beach, with the first six of the eight quarter-finalists decided.



Jordy Smith.
Image: ASP/Cestari


A close battle occurred in heat four of the round of 24 as Aritz Aranburu went head-to-head with Thomas Woods.


The title of first place constantly changed throughout the heat, with Aranburu finally taking the lead with a total score of 11.93, just 0.30 separated the two.


Jadson Andre fought with power during heat five against local South African Dylan Lightfoot as he locked in a 9.00 ride combined with a 7.50.


Andre posted a final two-wave score of 16.50 and progressed through to the round of 16.


A major single wave score of the day was posted by Ramzi Boukhiam in heat one of the round of 16.


Boukhiam’s lethal backhand technique impressed the judges and earned a single wave score of a near perfect 9.57 out of a possible 10.


This massive score was backed up with a 7.50 that he had locked in earlier on in the heat, taking out first position and advancing into the quarter-finals.


“This is my first quarter-final result in a Prime, so I’m stoked,” Boukhiam said.


Top seed Jordy Smith also progressed through to the quarter-finals, defeating fellow South African Beyrick de Vries by 5.13 points respectively.


Julian Wilson had a close win over Jadson Andre in heat five as he made use of the final 30 seconds to claim the win by a 4.70 ride.


An upset was caused in heat six as Kolohe Andino struggled to find the right waves to overpower Brazilian David do Carmo. 


Do Carmo’s careful wave selection proved a critical strategy as he combined a 7.33 and a 6.87 ride for a two-wave total of 14.20.


The official event organisers decided to call the event off for the day as the conditions gradually became unfavourable.


Aritz Aranburu
Image: ASP/Cestari



Round of 24 Results (Round 4):

Heat 1:

1. Ramzi Boukhiam 13.50 (MAR) 2. Granger Larsen 12.27 (HAW)


Heat 2:

1. Stu Kennedy 12.93 (AUS) 2. Jay Thompson 11.93 (AUS)


Heat 3:

1. Beyrick de Vries 12.90 (ZAF) 2. Marlon Lipke 8.06 (PRT)


Heat 4:

1. Aritz Aranburu 11.93 (EUK) 2. Thomas Woods 11.63 (AUS)


Heat 5:

1. Jadson Andre 16.50 (BRA) 2. Dylan Lightfoot 9.34 (ZAF)


Heat 6:

1. David do Carmo 13.26 (BRA) 2. Dion Atkinson 10.50 (AUS)


Heat 7:

1. Mitch Crews 12.87 (AUS) 2. Jean de Silva 9.76 (BRA)


Heat 8:

1. Mason Ho 15.30 (HAW) 2. Billy Stairmand 14.83 (NZL)


Round of 16 Results (Round 5):

Heat 1:

1. Ramzi Boukhiam 17.07 (MAR) 2. Caio Ibelli 12.93 (BRA)


Heat 2:

1. Stu Kennedy 14.07 (AUS) 2. Jesse Mendes 12.00 (BRA)


Heat 3:

1. Jordy Smith 14.43 (ZAF) 2. Beyrick de Vries 9.30 (ZAF)


Heat 4:

1. Aritz Aranburu 15.66 (EUK) 2. Maxime Huscenot 8.40 (FRA)


Heat 5:

1. Julian Wilson 11.53 (AUS) 2. Jadson Andre 10.33 (BRA)


Heat 6:

1. David do Carmo 14.20 (BRA) 2. Kolohe Andino 5.50 (USA)


Heat seven and eight of the round of 16 are yet to be completed.


Written by Madison Heinze 





Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



* Copy This Password *

* Type Or Paste Password Here *

112,157 Spam Comments Blocked so far by Spam Free Wordpress

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>