Lampre-Merida’s Diego Ulissi takes out Stage Two of the Tour Down Under

24 year old Italian Diego Ulissi has won Stage Two of the Tour Down Under, in front of Simon Gerrans and Cadel Evans.


Photo: Dan Peled/

Diego Ulissi crosses the finishing line. Photo: Dan Peled/

Stage Two started in Prospect and ended in Stirling, after a 150km ride through the Adelaide Hills.


Ulissi completed the course in just three hours and 52 minutes.


Gerrans retained the Ochre Leader’s jersey, with Ulissi now in second spot.


Gerrains wearing the Ochre Jersey. Photo: AFP/The Australian

Gerrains wearing the Ochre Jersey. Photo: AFP/The Australian

Young UniSA-Australia rider Caleb Ewan was injured in a crash three kilometres out from the finish line, leaving him bloodied and bruised.


Stage Three will start in Norwood at 11.00am tomorrow, finishing in Campbelltown at approximately 3.00pm.


The 145km course will pass through Springton, Mount Pleasant, Birdwood and Corkscrew Hill.


Santos Ochre Leader – Simon Gerrans (Orica-Greenedge)(AUS)

Adam Internet Sprint Leader – Simon Gerrans (Orica-Greenedge)(AUS)

Skoda King of the Mountain leader – Adam Hansen (Lotto-Belisol)(AUS)

Cycle Instead Young Rider leader – Carlos Quintanilla Verona (Omega Pharma – Quick Step)(ESP)

Europcar Most Competitive Rider – Will Clarke (Drapac)(AUS)

Hindmarsh Leading Team – Lampre-Merida


Top 10 after Stage Two


1 – Simon Gerrans (Orica-Greenedge)(AUS)

2 – Diego Ulissi (Lampre-Merida)(ITA)

3 – Andre Greipel (Lotto-Belisol)(GER)

4 – Cadel Evans (BMC Racing Team)(AUS)

5 – Steele Von Hoff (Garmin-Sharp)(AUS)

6 – Simon Geschke (Giant Shimano)(GER)

7 – Francesco Gavazzi (Astana Proteam)(ITA)

8 – Robert Gesink (Belkin Pro Cycling Team)(NED)

9 – Maxime Bouet (AG2R La Mondiale)(FRA)

10 – Geraint Thomas (Team Sky)(GBR)


Written by Samantha Thomas

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



* Copy This Password *

* Type Or Paste Password Here *

112,161 Spam Comments Blocked so far by Spam Free Wordpress

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>