Fiasco Sports asks… Who will win the 2015 AFL premiership?

Who will win the 2015 AFL premiership?


Photo: Getty Images

Photo: Getty Images



The two teams from Western Australia lead the AFL premiership ladder. The Fremantle Dockers top of the standings, two points ahead of the West Coast Eagles.



Fremantle has lead the competition all season, only losing on four occasions, but Fremantle is not the favourite to take home the ultimate prize.



How can a team dominate an entire season of football, lead the standings, but be third favourite to win the flag? It’s hard to comprehend that Fremantle sits at $4.50 odds.



The favourite to win the 2015 AFL premiership is Hawthorn. Hawthorn is 8 points adrift of Fremantle in third place,  is not in peak form and its captain Luke Hodge has been suspended for the remainder of the minor rounds.



Hawthorn’s last four matches show a 50% win/loss ratio, one of those losses at the hands of a team outside of the top eight, Port Adelaide.



According to Hawthorn is currently $2.50 favourite to take the major prize, but does it deserve to be?



Has any team this season done enough to stamp its authority on the 2015 trophy?


The Sydney Swans are quietly going about their business in fourth position, winning comprehensively in three of their past four matches.


The Western Bulldogs and North Melbourne have been hit and miss this season, but have taken some big scalps along the journey…could they make a push for Grand Final day? Due to the unpredictable nature of both sides, they could both defeat any opponent on their day.


Richmond currently sitting in fifth position poses a real threat to the established top four teams, hitting form late in the season. Richmond has won eight of the last ten matches beating two top four teams, premiership favourites Hawthorn and fourth-placed Sydney.


It would be a fairytale if the Adelaide Crows could push deep into September action. Adelaide rounds out the finals bound teams in eighth position. Although Adelaide is the longest odds to win the premiership, who could discount the emotion that the players will bring with them into the finals.



In the current finals format, no team has won the premiership finishing the regular season outside the top four. Adelaide was the last side to win a premiership, under the old finals format from a position lower than fourth.



Adelaide finished the 1998 regular season in fifth position behind North Melbourne, Western Bulldogs, Sydney and Melbourne.



In one of the most open premiership seasons in recent history, every team in the finals series this year has a genuine chance to lift the trophy aloft.



Who’s your pick? Who will have their name etched forever as the 2015 AFL premiers?


Written by Matthew Diglio


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



* Copy This Password *

* Type Or Paste Password Here *

112,166 Spam Comments Blocked so far by Spam Free Wordpress

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>