Australian Skipper Makes ICC Test and ODI Teams of the Year

Australian captain Steve Smith has capped of a wonderful 12 months on the field by being named in the ICC Test and ODI Teams of the Year.

Source: William West/AFP

Source: William West/AFP

In a year that saw him take over the captaincy, Smith took all before him with the bat and in the field as he established himself as one of the best in the world.


Smith’s deputy David Warner was also rewarded for a stellar 2015 with selection in the Test team of the year, while young quick Josh Hazewood also made his way into the team.


ICC Test Team of the Year 2015 (in batting order):

David Warner (Aus)
Alastair Cook (Eng) (captain)
Kane Williamson (NZ)
Younis Khan (Pak)
Steven Smith (Aus)
Joe Root (Eng)
Sarfraz Ahmed (Pak) (wicketkeeper)
Stuart Broad (Eng)
Trent Boult (NZ)
Yasir Shah (Pak)
Josh Hazlewood (Aus)
12th: Ravichandran Ashwin (Ind)


In a World Cup winning year, Smith was rewarded for his performances in the limited overs format, along with Mitchell Starc who has solidified his spot as one of the premier fast bowlers in the world.


ICC ODI Team of the Year 2015 (in batting order):

Tillakaratne Dilshan (SL)
Hashim Amla (SA)
Kumar Sangakkara (SL) (wicketkeeper)
AB de Villiers (SA) (captain)
Steven Smith (Aus)
Ross Taylor (NZ)
Trent Boult (NZ)
Mohammed Shami (Ind)
Mitchell Starc (Aus)
Mustafizur Rahman (Bang)
Imran Tahir (SA)
12th: Joe Root (Eng)


Written by: Joe Schwab @JoeSchwab64

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



* Copy This Password *

* Type Or Paste Password Here *

112,207 Spam Comments Blocked so far by Spam Free Wordpress

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>